Webster University Captures Third Straight, 18th All-Time SLIAC All-Sports Trophy

May. 15, 2019

Provost Julian Shuster, Athletic Director Scott Kilgallon, President Elizabeth (Beth) J. Stroble and Faculty Athletics Representative Scott Jensen receive the All-Sports Award at Tuesday's SLIAC Awards Banquet.

Webster University continued its dominance of the St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference All-Sports Trophy as the Gorloks took home the 2018-19 trophy for the third consecutive season Tuesday evening during the SLIAC Awards Banquet that was held at Tapawingo National Golf Club.

Webster has now won the SLIAC All-Sports Trophy 18 times in the 21-year history of the award, including  14 times in the last 15 years.
During the 2018-19 season, Webster took home SLIAC titles in women's soccer, women's cross country, volleyball, men's basketball, men's golf, baseball and women's track and field. In addition, Webster tied for second in men's soccer and finished second in men's track and field and men's cross country and finished third in both men's and women's tennis. In fact, only one of Webster's sports finished lower than fourth in the any of the 14 conference sponsored sports they compete in as Webster finished seventh in softball. 
Along with capturing regular season SLIAC titles in women's soccer, baseball, men's basketball and volleyball, Webster also won the SLIAC Tournament title in baseball. The Gorloks also competed in the NCAA Tournament in men's and women's cross country, men's golf and baseball and had one individual, sophomore Jacob Ridenhour, qualify in the 60-meter dash for the NCAA D-III Indoor Track and Field Championships. Ridenhour became the second consecutive Gorlok student-athlete to earn a spot in the NCAA National Championships for track and field.
The SLIAC All-Sports Championship Trophy is determined by awarding points based on each schools' finish in the Conference's 15 sports, earning ten points for a first-place finish, nine points for a second-place finish, etc.  Teams finishing tied split the points for the tied spot and the spot(s) immediately following (two teams finishing tied for third receives 7.5 points).

Carr '05, Todt '92 in SLIAC Hall of Fame

Todt, Stroble, Carr
Todt and Carr with President Stroble (center)

Along with handing out the All-Sports Award on Tuesday night, the league also handed out awards for Team Sportsmanship, the SAAC Community Service Project Award, the league's Post Graduate Scholarship Award, the Lee McKinney Distinguished Service Service Award and also the SLIAC Class of 2019 Hall of Fame inductees.

Among the Hall of Fame inductees were former Gorlok men's soccer coach Marty Todt '92 and former women's basketball player Angie Carr '05. Read about their achievements in this story announcing their induction.

Read more about the SLIAC banquet and the scoring for the All-Sports Trophy in this Athletics post.

tags:  webster today, webster life, students, alumni, home page, athletics, sliac,